My Companion

My companion, Quincy, is throw away. To much to handle they said, I don’t have the time or patience to deal with him. Did you know, my son, he looked up to you? He waited on every command you uttered, he adored you unconditionally. He sat with you for hours while you smoked, text and talked, a quiet strength. Did you know how smart he is? He, like you, just wanted someone to love him. He is such a sensitive soul. And you gave him away so I took him.

He is a joyous handful, full of life and love.  He is a big talker and loves to argue with me!!  His biggest joy is playing with other dogs.  He has grown so much through his interactions with them. He is confident and strong.  He isn’t afraid of other dogs or people anymore, he just needed understanding . 

His and my relationship started as me being his interim caregiver. To him I wasn’t his superior I was just a pack member.  What a crazy pair we are.  

I advocate for Pitbull type dogs but had never owned one.  When Quincy came into my life it was craziness.  I hadn’t owned a dog in over 10 years let alone one so strong, being an “outcast breed” in society, owning a dog of his stature opened challenges I didn’t completely understand.  Over and over I questioned my own sanity in this choice.  His challenge to me would either make or break me.  

I am happy to say today Quincy and I have come to respect and appreciate each other.  One huge hurdle for him was accepting my other furry companion, Butch, my cat.  In the beginning Quincy hated cats and at one point early on had tried to kill Butch, he had him by the neck and I think more his immaturity saved Butch and my quick actions on separating them both.  I was terrified.  Today believe it or not they have come to be friends, peacefully sharing the spaces that were once taboo.  I give a lot of credit to Butch for continuing to be open to Quincy. 

Each day is an adventure, we have settled into routine, understanding and respect for each other. I will protect Quincy with everything I have, because not everyone in society is kind to animals. It’s the unexpected challenges that change our world.  You, Quincy, make me a better person.  I love you. 

~T~

About ~T~

Be patient toward all that is unsolved in our heart, and try to love the questions themselves for they are like locked rooms and like books that are written in a very foreign tongue. Do not seek the answers which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer. - Rainier Maria Rilke
This entry was posted in Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

